Google will now allow users to decide what happens to their data after they die or become inactive online. The feature applies to Google's Gmail service, social network Google Plus, Blogger, YouTube, photo-sharing service Picasa, and other services provided by Google.
Google said users can opt to have their data deleted after three, six, nine or 12 months of inactivity. Alternatively, certain contacts can be sent data from some or all of their services.
"We hope that this new feature will enable you to plan your digital afterlife - in a way that protects your privacy and security - and make life easier for your loved ones after you're gone," Google said in a blogpost.
You can read more in an article by Andreas Tuerk, Product Manager, in the Google Public Policy Blog at http://googlepublicpolicy.blogspot.com/.
My thanks to newsletter reader David Samuelsen for telling me about this new policy.