If you are a Dropbox user, check your files. If you have been using an older version of Dropbox’s software, you need to know that the desktop app has deleted some user files from the cloud.
There is both good news and bad news. If you have regularly updated the Dropbox software every time the message appeared stating that a new version is available, you should have no problems. The problem exists only in older versions of the Dropbox software. In more good news, Dropbox says that it’s restoring files where it can and is updating the bug.
However, there is bad news for some Dropbox users: the company says it can’t restore all the lost files. The problem seems to have affected only those users who turned on Selective Sync, which limits cloud syncs to specified folders.