The National Archives (of England and Wales) Fees are Changing

On 1 April 2017, the fees charged by The National Archives at Kew, Richmond, Surrey, for research, paper and digital copies of records, and some other services, will change.

The National Archives is allowed to charge for the statutory services provided under the Public Records Act (1958). However, the agency is not permitted to make a profit on these services but is expected to recover actual costs.

A summary of the new pricing structure, in effect from 1 April 2017, is available at:

For reference purposes, the older summary of prices that has been in effect for a year is also available at:


Wales is part of Great Britain – so The National Archives (TNA) holds records for England and Wales, together with items relating to the United Kingdom, rather than of ‘Great Britain and Wales’.

Wales also has its own Archive, as does Scotland and Ireland.


‘Great Britain and Wales’ is a tautology, since Great Britain is made up of England, Scotland and Wales. But the National Archives in fact cover the whole of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.


Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: